St Patrick’s Dungiven storm home to Nagle title

May 21, 2018

Danske Bank Nagle Cup final

St Patrick’s Dungiven 2-12 St Benedict’s Randalstown 1-7

ST PATRICK’s Dungiven pulled away in the second half of this entertaining Danske Bank Nagle Cup final in Bellaghy last night to collect the school’s fifth Ulster title of the season – and that despite conceding a goal and a point to St Benedict’s in the opening five minutes of play.

However the north Derry boys showed lots of composure and midfielder Pádraig Hasson produced a tour-de-force at midfield, keeping them in touch against the breeze in the opening half and then leading the charge to the line after the break with plenty of support from Shay Millar and the defenders.
Sean McAllister was the star of St Benedict’s valiant effort, hitting that opening 1-1 and producing a great spectacle at midfield in his duel with Hasson. Caspar Logan and Aidan McErlaine were others to stand up well to the test.

After those early scores from McAllister, Dungiven settled and played some good possession football against the breeze, working their way back into the game, with Hasson scoring two frees and Shay Millar a 15th minute goal to make it 1-3 to 1-2 and the sides went in on level terms 1-4 each.

Dungiven took over on the re-start and scored the opening five points of the second half inside ten minutes with two for Hasson and one each from Caelean Hazelett, Shay Millar and Tiarnan O’Neill.
McAllister replied with two for Randalstown but it was a short reprieve as Hasson and Hazelett cancelled them and in the 48th minute Corey O’Connor killed the game off with a wonder solo goal where referee Joe Mulholland must take credit after allowing the advantage for two fouls before O’Connor lifted the net.

After that, scoring slowed apart from a point from full-back Barry Harkin and good final point from Tiarnan Murry. But the game and the Cup belonged to St Patrick’s Dungiven.

St Patrick’s: B Deeney, F McIntyre, B Harkin 0-1, E Kealey, T O’Neill 0-1, S Harkin, C Devlin, P O’Kane, P Hasson capt. 0-5, C Mullan, C O’Connor 1-0, J McGonigle 0-1, S Millar 1-2, C O’Neill, C Hazlett 0-2
Subs : D Newland for C Devlin, D McGonigle for C O’Neill, M McGilligan for E Kealey.

St Benedict’s : R Gribben, K McCormick, C Logan, T McKinney, R McVeigh, C Hasting, C O’Kane, O Molloy, S McAllister 1-4, S Hinfey, A McErlaine 0-1, C McLarnon, C Hughes, T Murray 0-2, C O’Loan.
Subs: C Donnelly for C Hughes, M Hood for C O’Kane, E Campbell for C McLarnon,

Referee : Joe Mulholland (Magherafelt)