St Colm’s maintain under 14 winning streak

June 13, 2018

Danske Bank Brother Mallon Shield final
St Colm’s Draperstown 2-12 La Salle Belfast 1-1
ST COLM’S Draperstown maintained their impressive record in this age-group by winning the Danske Bank Brother Mallon hurling Shield at Slemish Park yesterday.
Their win over La Salle adds to football and camogie titles already won this year in the same age-group and they started this final in determined fashion with the wind on their backs.
However although they dominated the early stages they had only a fifth minute point from Eoin Donnelly to show for that work. That was until the 12th minute when a long ball from Donnelly was finished to the net by John Boyle.
Donnelly, centre back Joe McKenna and playmaker Aodhan McCallion kept the pressure on and St Colm’s moved into 1-5 to 0-0 lead before Thomas Duff took the pressure off La Salle’s defence. He set off on a break and Sean Bunce slotted to the net. However it didn’t prevent the Derry boys going in at the break with a comfortable 1-8 to 1-0 advantage.
While La Salle had the elements in their favour for the second half, it was St Colm’s forward Aodhan McCallion who opened the scoring with a point and then he added a goal in the sixth minute to put the game out of reach.
McCallion, Donnelly and substitute Kieran Hasson fired points as St Colm’s ran out comfortable winners.
ST COLM’S: B O’Connor, R O’Hagan, E McNicholl, C Fullerton, K Donnelly, C Shiels (0-1), J McKenna (0-1), M Wilson (0-1), E Donnelly (0-3), JL McGlade, A McCallion (1-4, 1f), C Bradley (0-1), C Boyle, F= Bradley, J= Boyle (1-0).
Sub: Kieran Hasson (0-1).
LA SALLE: C Connolly, A Soda, M Walsh, T Auld, C Boyd, O Coleman, T Duff, P McCashin, D Smyth (0-1f), S Munce (1-0), M Johnston, L Walsh, D Walsh, C McGuigan, D Gray.
Referee: Fergal Hurley (Lavey)