St Colman’s win extra time Rannafast thriller

November 10, 2017

Danske Bank Rannafast quarter-final

St Colman’s Newry 2-21 St Macartan’s Monaghan 4-13 AET

There was another high-scoring quarter-final in the Danske Bank Rannafast Cup in Culloville yesterday with St Colman’s Newry eventually battling through by a margin of just two points after a game that had everything, end-to-end football, injury-time drama and no less than six goals and 34 points.

Christopher Flood’s goal in the opening half sent St Macartan’s through at the break with a 1-6 to 0-4 advantage and little indication of the real thriller that was to unfold.

Helped by a Cian McLaughlin goal, St Colman’s came back into the frame only for Niall McKenna to hit back with the Sem’s second goal. However a series of points from McLaughlin and Andrew Gilmore put St Colman’s 1-15 to 2-10 ahead entering injury-time.

St Macartan’s then won a 14 metres’ free which Niall McKenna lobbed in for Tristan Moynah to palm to the net.

However there was just about enough time for Andrew Gilmore to rescue the Newry side by curling over a 35 metres’ free with the last kick of normal time.

Dara Fagan edged St Colman’s ahead with a goal at the start of extra time, but back came the Sem with a second goal for Niall McKenna.

Although McKenna tied the teams at the start of the second half of added time, late points from Colm Murphy and Gilmore took St Colman’s over the line.

They will now face the winners from Abbey CBS v St Patrick’s Cavan, a game scheduled for Monday

St Colman’s : Cian McLaughlin 1-6, Dara Fagan 1-0, Andrew Gilmore 0-5, Colm Murphy 0-3, Sean O’Hare 0-2, Adam Cummins 0-2, Conor Doherty 0-1, Cian Lyons 0-1, Eamon Lyons 0-1.

St Macartan’s : Niall McKenna 2-5, Christopher Flood 1-0, Tristan Moynah 1-0, Michael Carville 0-3, Ben Ryan 0-2, Colm McCooey 0-1, Conor Lappin 0-1, Carl Gallagher 0-1.