Rathmore win Leopold Cup

January 31, 2020

Danske Bank Leopold Cup final : Rathmore Grammar 4-9 St Patrick’s Keady 1-7 THE Rathmore fairy-tale continued yesterday in Lurgan as they collected the Danske Bank Leopold Cup for just the second time after a remarkable campaign that saw them lose the first two group games to Coláiste Feriste and La Salle and only make a play-off with a narrow win over St Malachy’s Belfast.
Remarkably they had the work done with 20 minutes to go yesterday following goals early in the second half that put them 4-7 to 1-1 clear.
The city side played with the aid of the strong breeze during the first half and put their print on the game with goals from Conor McRory and David Prenter. Declan Mooney, the Blaneys, Niall Burke and Eoin McGarry all pushed forward to make sure that Rathmore had a cushion at the break.
Tyler Dynes scored a Keady goal and Ronnie Spottiswood added a point, but they lacked bite up front until Tomas Galvin came on for the second half.
However before Galvin could make an impact, James Close and Dónal Martin had extended Rathmore’s lead.
Galvin shot six points during the last 20 minutes despite carrying an obvious injury and Finn Fox and Dara Harvey supported the fight-back with Rathmore goalie Cathán Ó hEireamhóinn bringing off a couple of sharp saves to get his team over the line.
Rathmore : Dónal Maartin (1-2, 0-2 frees), David Prenter (1-1), James Close (1-1), Conor McRory (1-0), Declan Mooney (0-3, 0-1 free), Ruairí McErlean (0-2) St Patrick’s : Tyler Dynes (1-0), Tomás Galvin (0-6, 0-4 frees), Ronnie Spottiswood (0-1 free).