Rannafast 2023

October 09, 2023

Rannafast Results

St Patrick’s, Dungannon 0-16 St Patrick’s, Armagh 2-6


Danske Bank Rannafast Cup final

St Patrick’s, Dungannon 0-16 St Patrick’s, Armagh 2-6

AN outstanding second-half display saw St Patrick’s Academy justifiy their favourites’ tag at Pairc Chormaic in Eglish last night to win a keenly contested Danske Bank Rannafast Cup Final against neighbours St Patrick’s, Armagh.

Armagh were the better side in the opening period as they nullified their opponents’ scoring threat to deservedly lead by two points at the break.

Down goalkeeper Charlie Smyth to join Rory Beggan and Mark Jackson at American Football trials

Donegal get first win of new Jim McGuinness era
A devastating eight-minute spell in the third quarter, during which time they hit seven unanswered points, saw Dungannon turn the game on its head.

Armagh were then thrown a lifeline when a converted penalty reduced the deficit to the minimum but the winners upped the ante in a superb second half, during which they limited Armagh to only two scores.

It was Armagh who led 1-5 to 0-6 at half-time with midfielder Oisin Gribben’s goal in the 23rd minute the difference between the two sides.

Caomh Agnew and Matthew Daly had early points for Armagh before Dungannon enjoyed a good spell. A superb Rian McIvor score levelled matters before two in a minute from Lorcan McMurray and Liam McGeary had the Academy in front.

Armagh, though, lifted their game and from there until the short whistle they were the better side.

Ryan Dynes hit a brilliant point from distance before a long delivery in from Brian Og McGuckin saw Gribbel rise highest to flick the ball to the net.

McGeary responded with a superb individual point before Agnew and Joel Kerr traded late points.

A free from Agnew opened the second-half scoring but that point in the 36th minute proved to be Armagh’s only score apart from the late penalty.

Dungannon began to really press the Armagh kick-out and it reaped dividends. Two frees from Kerr were followed by a mark from Darragh Devlin as the winners turned the screw.

Team captain Davin McKeown hit an inspirational score for a lead that they were never to lose and that was followed by equally good efforts from Kerr, McGeary and Devlin.

With four minutes to go, Matthew Daly took a great catch in the box and went down with referee Martin McNally awarding penalty which Agnew confidently dispatched.

That left the scoreboard reading 0-13 to 2-6 but Dungannon weren’t to be denied. McMurray and McGeary both registered again either side of one from substitute Charlie Maguire with his first touch as this group of players won their third Ulster school’ title in a row.

By Kevin Kelly Published in the Irish News December 12, 2023


Danske Bank Rannafast Cup final

St Patrick’s, Dungannon 0-16 St Patrick’s, Armagh 2-6

St. Ronan’s, Lurgan 0-7 V Abbey CBS, Newry 1-8
St. Paul’s, Bessbrook 0-5 V Abbey CBS, Newry 1-7
St. Paul’s, Bessbrook 2-10  V St. Ronan’s, Lurgan 2-7
Abbey, CBS  3-17    St Colman’s, Newry 5-11



Images can be viewed in our gallery section, Football, Under 16½ 23/24, Gallery