Patrician High take first ever Brock Cup title

April 24, 2017

Danske Bank Brock Cup final

Patrician Carrickmacross 1-7 St Colman’s Newry 0-4

Patrician High School Carrickmacross playing in their first ever final deservedly picked up the Danske Bank Brock Cup with a physically powerful display in an entertaining if low-scoring decider at Silverbridge.

The decisive point of the game was a penalty awarded when Sean Jones was hauled down on his way in on the St Colman’s goals in the 21st minute.

Donnach Swinburne took responsibility for the spot kick and hammered the ball to the net, putting Patrician in control of the game at 1-1 to 0-2 with Jack Doogan adding another point before the break.

A goal down and facing into the breeze, St Colman’s were forced to come out of their defensive shell and the second half proved a more open affair, although Patrician held all the aces.

Jordan McGarrell gave a fine display of high-fielding with Sean Jones feeding well off him. Ronan Grimes performed a sound man-marking job on the dangerous Andrew Gilmore, while Kyle Connolly swept up well at the back and Andrew Moore showed a lot of industry up front.

St Colman’s defence was very strong and held their structure well throughout, but overall they lacked the physical presence of their opponents and can have little complaint about the result.

Andrew Gilmore scored both their first half points and added a free during the second half. But Patrician were already pulling away by that point with points from Jones and Swinburne.

Towards the end Eoin Cotter brought off a marvellous save turning a top-corner effort from Andrew Moore over the crossbar. That was Patrician’s last score and they celebrated raucously a few minutes later as the Brock Cup headed to Carrickmacross for the first time.

Patrician: R Farrelly, D Kerley, J McGeown, R Grimes, C Cunningham, J Doogan 0-1, C Downey, J McGarrell, S Hanratty 0-1, K Connolly, D Swinburne 1-2, 1-0 pen, 0-1 free, J Oates, C Capaldi, S Jones 0-2, A Moore 0-1, K Connolly.

Subs : L McDonald for J Oates (45), A McConnon for C Calpaldi (55)

St Colman’s : E Cotter, L Brannigan, R Tumilty, E Brown, D Fegan 0-1, J Magee, T Magee, C Doherty, C Lyons, C Murphy, J McCann, A Gilmore 0-3 0-1 free, R O’Hare, C McLoughlin, D McCarthy.