McGreevy semis

November 13, 2019

Dankse Bank McGreevy Cup semi-final

St Patrick’s Keady 6-10 St Patrick’s Armagh 2-3
PETER McKeever was the star turn in yesterday’s Armagh derby semi-final in the Danske Bank McGreevy Cup. The Middletown forward scored two goals at the start of the game and then another two just before the break to give Keady an unassailable interval lead of 5-4 to 0-2 against St Patrick’s Armagh.
Captain Tom Fox dropped back centre forward to assist Jack Loughran to establish control around the middle third and strong running from Conor McNally continued to drive them forward after the break.
However the Cathedral Hill boys improved both in defence and attack during the second half and only Conor Lappin added to Keady’s goal total while Aaron Gillespie and Callum Rafferty hit the net for Armagh.
Keady: Peter McKeever 4-2, Daire McKenna 1-3, Conor Lappin 1-2, Conor McNally 0-1, Tom Fox 0-1, Sean óg McNaughton 0-1.
Armagh : Aaron Gillespie 1-1, Callum Rafferty 1-0, Tom Scallon 0-1, Dara Harney 0-1.

St Patrick’s Downpatrick 10-10 St Colman’s Newry 1-9
THE goals flowed in the Down derby semi-final in the Dankse Bank McGreevy Cup yesterday as holders St Patrick’s Downpatrick made it back into a final later this week with the Keady namesakes.
St Colman’s competed well in general play, but they simply could not match the goal-scoring power of Cian Clarke and Cathal Mooreland each of whom hit the net on four occasions.
Enan Fitzsimons got the scoring underway with an early goal and Cian Clarke added a point for Downpatrick. Clarke then hit four goals in a row to put his team in command at half-time.
Fearghus Mac Murchaidh scored a goal for St Colman’s and Patrick Walsh added some excellent points, but their defence was pulled apart by the pace of Clarke and Fitzsimons.
Early in the second half Cathal Moreland got his first goal and he added three more before the end.
The final with St Patrick’s Keady who defeated St Patrick’s Armagh in their semi-final before the Halloween break looks likely to be played on Thursday evening.
St Patrick’s : Cian Clarke 4-4, Cathal Mooreland 4-0, DJ Farrell 1-3, Enan Fitzsimons 1-2, Rossa Byres 0-1
St Colman’s : Fearghus Mac Murchaidh 1-0, Patrick Walsh 0-6, Martin McKinley 0-2