McCloskey magic sees St Louis’ seal spot in semi

November 19, 2021
Jack McCloskey Loughgiel Shamrocks GAC was the hero for St Louis’ Ballymena this afternoon, as his hat-trick of goals was enough to see them book a Semi Final spot against St Patrick’s Grammar Downpatrick in the Danske Bank UK Mageean Cup.
Final Score
Cross & Passion Ballycastle 0-07
St Louis’ Ballymena 3-07
Match report and photographs below from The Saffron Gael ⏬

St Louis Ballymena 3-7 Cross & Passion Ballycastle 0-7

Three goals from man of the match Jack McCloskey guided St Louis to the semi-final of the Danske Bank Mageean Cup at Pairc MacUílin on Friday and in doing so ended CPC’s interest of this year’s competition, despite the face they won their first two games.

The Ballymena school had the better of things during the opening quarter and points from McCloskey (2), Callum Higgins and Oisin McCamphill helped the to a 0-4 to 0-1 lead after seven minutes, the CPC point coming from Christy ‘Bicky’ McGarry.

Two more from McGarry and one from Ben McCarry brought CPC level by the 18th minute but points from Daire McMulland and a goal from Jack McCloskey had St Louis back on top by half time.


CPC had showed well in the first half, despite facing a fresh breeze, and when ‘Bicky’ added another point ten minutes into the second half they were still in contention. However that was to prove their only score of the second half and St Louis gained the upper hand. The game was still in the melting pot entering the last ten minutes with just one score between the sides (1-7 to 0-7), but McCloksey showed his class with further goals in the 52nd and 55th minutes to book a semi-final place against Red High next week.


Calum Mullan, Dara Martin, Kevin O’Boyle, Pearce Patterson, Daire McMullan, Conor Dickson, Connal McCloskey, Finn Henry, Aodhan McGarry, Darragh Patterson, Callum Higgins, Ryan McQuillan, Ronan McCollum, Jack McCloskey, Oisin McCamphill.


Criostaí McAuley, Patrick McAlonan, James Bakewell, Cahir Connolly, Jack Colgan, Ruairi McCormick, Eoin Boylan, Darragh Kelly, Ben McGarry, Christy McGarry, Tiernan Heggarty, Ben O’kane, Gavin McToal, Orann Donnelly, Cahir Donnelly

Referee – Patrick Tumelty.