St Ronan’s pull off MacRory Shock

January 31, 2016

Danske Bank MacRory Cup Playoff

from Kevin Kelly in Emyvale

St Ronan’s Lurgan 3-4 St Macartan’s Monaghan 1-4

St Ronan’s Lurgan recovered from a poor start to upset the odds with a fully merited win over a fancied St Macartan’s Monaghan side in this Danske Bank MacRory Cup playoff game at Emyvale last night.

The Monaghan lads enjoyed a dream start when a long delivery in from Jamie McCarey was fumbled by Lurgan keeper Ryan Conway and Jack Gormley was on hand to finish to the net from close range with less than a minute gone on the clock.

Despite having the wind at their backs though St Macartan’s failed to build on it as they came up against a well drilled St Ronan’s side who were determined to make history in their debut season in the competition.

With Barry McCambridge leading by example at the heart of their defence they repelled numerous attacks. Conor McConville opened the Armagh lads account but a well taken score from McCarey cancelled that out.

At the end of the opening quarter Conor Turbitt rattled the St Macartan’s bar when he should have found the net before a long range free from midfielder McConville closed the gap. That proved to be the last score of a poor first half with St Macartan’s going in 1-1 to 0-2 in front.

The second half was only two minutes old when good pressure forced the St Macartan’s defence into making a mistake and Eunan Walsh fired in from close range but moments later wing half back Dean McGuigan levelled matters.

The turning point in the game arrived in the 37th minute when St Macartan’s keeper Liam Quinn was caught in possession out the field and Kevin McAlinden showed great vision and skill to find the net from thirty metres.

McConville tagged on a point from a free and St Macartan’s now had it all to do. McCarey was on target from a placed ball but St Ronan’s weren’t to be denied with a Turbitt major six minutes from time deciding the issue.

St Ronan’s Lurgan: R Conway; J McAlinden, B McCambridge, S McAlinden; R Owens, P Branagan, J Haddock; J Lenehan, C McConville (0-3, 2f); C McDonald, K McAlinden (1-0), O Magill; C Turbitt (1-1), E Walsh (1-0), A McConville. Subs: R Meehan for Magill, J Haughey for Walsh, O Magee for K McAlinden, S Russell for McDonald

St.Macartan’s Monaghan: L Quinn; C Hand, J McKenna, K McKenna; D McGuigan (0-1), C Lynch, R Mohan; C Burns, F Hughes; D Brennan, S McMahon (1-0), R McAlister; J McCarey (0-2, 1f), J Gormley, C Leonard. Subs: D Hughes (0-1) for Leonard, R McKenna for Hughes, G McCaffrey for McAlister, P Finnan for Brennan

Referee: P Coyle (Tyrone)