Maghera take O’Farrell Cup

June 04, 2018

Danske Bank O’Farrell Cup
Winners of the Oisin McGrath Cup earlier in the season, St Patrick’s Maghera added the Danske Bank O’Farrell Cup at the weekend, coming out tops in the blitz held at Mid Ulster Sports’ Arena in Cookstown.
Indeed Maghera entered two squads in the Cup competition and another in the Shield. But in Group A of the Cup they lost by a point to Omagh CBS before edging home against St Colman’s Newry, St Patrick’s Armagh and St Ronan’s Lurgan, leaving them qualifying for the semi-finals in second spot.
Meanwhile the school’s other Cup team took out St Patrick’s Academy, St Mary’s Magherafelt and St Michael’s Enniskillen to go through top of Pool B and set up a semi-final with Team A. However the scoring power of Conor Downey and Ciaran Chambers saw Team A through to a final with Omagh CBS.
Omagh led from the start and were still three points up when Maghera earned a last minute penalty which Ciaran Chambers tucked away to force extra time.
There was little between the side during the first period of extra time but Maghera hit an unanswered 1-6 after the break to avenge their group defeat and add the O’Farrell Cup to the Oisin McGrath trophy for the second year running.