Maghera storm to second MacRory win

November 21, 2017

Danske Bank MacRory Cup
St Patrick’s Maghera 2-18 St Patrick’s Cavan 1-6
St Patrick’s Maghera look really hot at the moment and their Cavan namesakes couldn’t live with that heat in Pearse Óg Park Armagh yesterday.
They were already into their scoring stride when Pat Shivers landed his first goal in the 12th minute and, with Lorcan McWilliams in the zone they were 1-7 to 0-3 ahead when Shivers hit the net for the second time in the 26th minute.
There was a flicker of hope for Cavan on the re-start when Ruairí Curran pointed a free and then was entrusted with the penalty kick when Cormac Donohue was grounded in the 33rd minute.
Curran scored that to make it 2-8 to 2-5, but Maghera turned on the heat once more and Cavan were to add just a single point during the remaining 27 minutes of play.
At the other end they were under constant pressure as Lorcan McWilliams brought his tally to 0-11 and twin brother Oisin added two more.
It means that Maghera are already group winners leaving Saturday’s game against St Patrick’s Academy a dead rubber and the next test is a derby MacCormack Cup semi-final against MacRory champions St Mary’s Magherafelt.
St Patrick’s Maghera : Pat Shivers 2-0, Lorcan McWilliams 0-11, 0-9 frees, Jude McAtamney 0-2, Oisin McWilliams 0-2, Peadar McLaughlin 0-1, Eoghan Hawe 0-1, Matthew Smyth 0-1.
St Patrick’s Cavan : Ruairi Curran 1-1, 1-0 pen., 0-1 free, Cian McGovern 0-2, 0-1 free, Eoin Clarke 0-1, Gavin Brady 0-1, Thomas Smith 0-1