HTC pull away in 2nd half in MacRory

January 19, 2020

Danske Bank MacRory Cup Eliminator
Holy Trinity Cookstown 2-12 St Ronan’s Lurgan 0-7
From Kevin Kelly in Lurgan

Holy Trinity Cookstown will play MacRory and Hogan Cup champions St Michael’s Enniskillen for a place in the last eight of this season’s competition after an impressive victory over St Ronan’s Lurgan on Saturday afternoon.
There was little between the sides at the end of a cagey first half but in the second period the Tyrone lads played some superb attacking football to run out empathic winners in the end.
The opening quarter failed to produce a score band James McCormick put the Armagh side in front from an 18th minute free. Sixty seconds later though Holy Trinity took a lead that they were never to lose when Blaine Ryan fisted the ball to the net.
Thomas Doris, Odhran Mulgrew and Pascal McClure all tagged on points as Holy Trinity began to make their dominance count on the scoreboard. Cian France and Mark Devlin traded scores as Holy Trinity led 1-4 to 0-3 at the break.
Shea Quinn increased their advantage on the re-start before France responded from another placed ball. Five minutes into the second half though the winners took a firm grip on proceedings when a sweeping move saw midfielder Tarlach Quinn blast the ball to the net.
That goal knocked the stuffing out of St Ronan’s and Holy Trinity piled on the pressure with McClure, Doris, Devin and Shea Quinn all adding points.
France and Oran McCafferty had points for St.Ronan’s but it only served to put a slightly better look on the scoreboard, Quinn and substitute Ben Donnelly with the winners last two scores.
Holy Trinity Cookstown: S Lawn, J Hamilton, C Mulgrew, C Devlin, N Connolly, P Quinn, N Devlin, T Quinn (1-0), A O’Loughlin, O Mulgrew (0-1), S Quinn (0-3, 1F), M Devlin (0-2, 2F), B Ryan (1-0), P McClure (0-2), T Doris (0-3, 2F).
Subs: P Connolly for O’Loughlin, A McAleer for Ryan, B Donnelly (0-1) for Doris, D Ryan for P Quinn, P Lynch for O Mulgrew
St Ronan’s Lurgan: C Cush, E Magee, M Magee, J McConville, R O’Hagan, J Hannon, N Dummigan, O McCafferty (0-1), A McParland, F Nixon (0-1), C Ferguson, C France (0-3, 2F), C Campbell, J McCormick (0-2, 2F), M McConville.
Subs: O Ginesi for Campbell, Niall Crilly for J McConville
Referee: P Faloon, Down

Peter Canavan | Holy Trinity v St Ronan's | MacRory Cup

Peter Canavan | Holy Trinity v St Ronan's | MacRory Cup interview in association with LCC GROUP

Posted by Teamtalkmag Tyrone on Saturday, 18 January 2020