Goals see Enniskillen into MacRory quarter

January 26, 2018

Danske Bank MacRory Cup Quarter-final Play Off

St Michael’s Enniskillen 2-11 St Patrick’s Cavan 0-13
The timing of both goals from St Michael’s Enniskillen in yesterday’s Danske Bank MacRory Cup quarter-final play-off in Derrygonnelly was crucial to the outcome of a very competitive derby fixture with St Patrick’s Cavan.
Enniskillen were really struggling for scores during the opening half and John Reihill grabbing the breaking ball to plant it in the top corner of the net in the 16th minute gave them a life-line.
By the time Ronan Beattie scored their second in the 20th minute, Cavan had scored six times with two each for Cian McGovern and Ruairi Curran.
However Cavan, playing some excellent football, went on to lead by 0-8 to 1-2 at the break – but were knocked back by the first score of the second half when Michael Gallagher’s great run ended with Conor Love fisting a second Enniskillen goal.
They had barely recovered from this blow, when Kyle tyler was shown a red card by referee Martin McNally. However for the next 20 minutes the teams shared eight points, with Ryan Breen and Fearghal McGovern shooting two each for Enniskillen and Ruairi Curran notching three for Cavan.
Then Enniskillen made a break for the line with McGovern (2) and Mícheál Glynn opening up a 2-9 to 0-12 lead between the 53rd and 56th minutes.
Although Eoin Clarke narrowed the gap with a monster 45, Michael Gallagher and Ryan Breen closed out the game with points to set up a semi-final joust with competition favourites St Patrick’s Maghera in the quarter-finals proper.
St Michael’s : Sean McNally, Luke Flannagan, Liam Owens, Aidan McKenna, Ryan Breen 0-2, Jack Love, Ronan Beattie 0-1, Oisin Smyth, Brandon Horan, Michael Gallagher 0-2, Pol McKervey, John Reihill 1-0, Conor Love 1-0, Colm McNally, Fearghal McGovern 0-5, 0-2 frees
Subs : Gavin McGovern for P McKervey, Aaron Tierney for O Smith, Mícheál Glynn 0-1 for R Beattie, James Boyle for A McKenna, Caolán Duffy for L Owens
St Patrick’s : Gary O’Rourke, Mark Minahane, Evan Fortune, Brendan Boylan, Cian Boylan, Aaron McManus, Mark Sexton, Cormac Timony 0-1, Thomas Smith 0-1, Oisin Brady, Ruairi Curran 0-5, 0-2 frees, Gavin Brady 0-1, Cian McGovern 0-2, Eoin Clarke 0-2 frees, Kyle Tyler 0-1.
Subs : Paddy McPhillips for O Brady, Jack Trainor for S McGovern, Mark Maguire for C Boylan
Referee : Martin McNally (Monaghan)