Gaelscoileanna and Bawnboy into Ward semis

January 16, 2019

Danske Bank Ward Cup quarter-finals
Coláiste Oiriall Monaghan 9-11 Finn Valley Stranorlar 2-8
Gairmscoil Chú Uladh Glenfin 5-10 St Kevin’s Lisnaskea 1-8
St Mogue’s Bawnboy 7-16 St Louise’s Belfast 0-7
YESTERDAY was a good day for Gaelscoileanna in the Danske Bank Ward Cup quarter-finals with both Coláiste Oiriall from Monaghan and Gairmscoil Chú Uladh from Glenfin progressing to semi-final meeting at the end of the month.
Two first half goals from Daragh Ó hAmaill set Coláiste Oiriall up nicely for their victory over Finn Valley College from Stranorlar. Leon Ó Murchú and Seán Ó hAodha added further goals before the break as the Monaghan side led by 4-5 to 0-4 at the turnover.
Although Finn Valley hit back with goals from Patrick McColgan and Joel Bradley-Walsh, they were never close enough to get back in contention and two goals each from Anann Ó Conchúr and Ógie Ó Dufaigh sealed the win for Coláiste Oiriall.
Meanwhile in Bawnacre, Gairmscoil Chú Uladh took control early in their game against St Kevin’s Lisnaskea with scores from the Mac Gloinn clan – Odhrán, Luke and Kaine.
Indeed the Glenfin outfit led by 2-6 to 1-3 at the break and powered on with second half goals from Odhrán Mac Gloinn, Dara McClafftery and Seosamh Shank-Smith, while, despite a brave effort from Aodhan Durnian and Thomas McGrory, St Kevin’s could only add a further five points.
In the third quarter-final played yesterday in Keady, St Mogue’s Bawnboy were comfortable winners over St Louise’s Belfast who had entered a boys’ football team for the first time.
However Bawnboy simply had too much experience for the west Belfast school and the Cavan side now await a winner from next Thursday’s game in MUSA between De La Salle Downpatrick and Errigal College Letterkenny
Coláiste Oiriall : Darragh Ó hAmaill 2-3, Anann Ó Conchúr 2-1, Ógie Ó Dufaigh 2-0, Seán Ó hAodha 1-3, Leon Mac Cába 1-2, Leon Ó Murchú 1-0, Luke Mac Giolla Comhaill 0-1, Seán Mac Cionna 0-1
Stranorlar: Joel Bradley-Walsh 1-5, Patrick McColgan 1-0, James Doherty 0-1, D McNamee 0-1, S McBride 0-1
Gairmscoil Chú Uladh : Odhrán Mac Gloinn 2-3, Dara McClafferty 1-2, Luke Mac Gloinn 1-1, Seosamh Shank-Smith 1-1, Kaine Mac Gloinn 0-2, Jordan O’Donnell 0-1.
St Kevin’s : Conor Courtney 1-0, Aodhan Durnian 0-4, Thomas McGrory 0-3, Daniel McLoughlin 0-1
St Mogue’s : James Edward Murphy 2-0, Philip McGoldrick 1-2, Ryan McGoldrick 1-0, Owen Barnes 1-0, Kevin McGovern 1-0, Luke Donohoe 1-0, Caoimhin McGover 0-8, Conor Galligan 0-3, Dylan Bannon 0-1, Nikodem McKiernan 0-1, Eoghan Brady 0-1
St Louise’s : Jack Somerskill 0-3, Niall Ferris 0-3, Michael Ferrick 0-1