More Derry football success

January 23, 2018

Danske Bank Gerry Brown Cup final
St Colm’s Draperstown 6-13 Moville Community School 3-7
INSIDE a period of a month, a third Derry school has collected an Ulster Schools’ title, with St Colm’s Draperstown’s scoring blitz in yesterday’s Danske Bank Gerry Brown Cup final following hot on the heels of wins for St Pius X Magherafelt in the Corn Loch An Iúir and St Patrick’s Dungiven in the Ennis Cup.
But after just seven minutes in Owenbeg, a victory for St Colm’s looked remote as Moville CC got a dream start with goals from Darragh Gillen and Peter Grant, the latter from a brilliant fetch and turn that put the Donegal side 2-2 to 0-2 up.
However a 13th minute penalty put Draperstown back into the groove, although Zach Conlon made a brilliant stop from Fergal Bradley’s initial effort. Bradley picked up the rebound and found the corner.
Before the first quarter was out, Ryan McElhinnon’s effort from out the field was bundled over the line and St Colm’s went on to lead by 2-9 to 2-4 at the break with Conor Shiels very impressive in controlling the game.
Sub Evan Hudner and Evan Davenport cut the margin at the start of the half, and then Joe McKenna and Darragh Gillan swopped goals with Moville hanging in at 2-10 to 2-6 entering the last quarter.
The clinching score came in the 48th minute when Marc Wilson started and finished a move for his side’s fourth goal. That score broke the Donegal resistance and Ryan McElhennon and sub Eoghan McNicholl added further late goals as St Colm’s coasted over the line.
St Colm’s : R McCullagh, C Fullerton, A McBride, R O’Hagan, K Donnelly 0-2, C Shiels, D McElhennon, M Wilson 1-0, E Donnelly 0-1, J McKenna 1-2, R McElhennon 2-3, C Bradley, A McCallion 0-4, 0-1 free, F Bradley 1-1, 0-1 free, JL McGlade.
Subs : S McNally for D McElhennon (49), E McNicholl 1-0 for JL McGlade (54), C Boyle for J McKenna (57).
Moville CC : Z Conlon, R Farren, C McLaughlin, C Mulcahy, O Davenport, S Hartley, O McElhinney, D McKinney 0-2, B Millar, S McLaughlin 0-1, D Gillen 2-0, S McAleer, E Davenport 1-2, 0-1 free, P Grant, P Hirrell 0-1.
Subs : E Hudner 0-1 for B Millar (34), Ryan Kelly for R Farren (34), M Doherty for S McAleer (HT), K Henry for P Hirrell (39).
Referee: Cyril Hargan (Ardmore).

Thanks to Mary K Burke for the picture