CPC make it through at 2nd attempt

April 04, 2019

Danske Bank Foresters’ Cup semi-final replay
Cross and Passion Ballycastle 5-13 St Mary’s CBGS Belfast 2-14
CROSS and Passion Ballycastle finished this Danske Bank Foresters’ Cup semi-final replay in Ballymena with an unanswered 1-3 yesterday to book themselves a place in next week’s final against either St Killian’s Garron Tower or St Patrick’s Maghera who face each other at 1pm today (FRIDAY) also in Ballymena.
In many ways the game followed the pattern of the drawn encounter on Monday except that Cross and Passion reeled in a seven point lead that the city side had with two Caolan O’Connor goals in the 26th and 29th minute.
St Mary’s had made all the early running while Rian McMullan kept CPC in the game with three points in the middle of the first half. An early goal from Marcus Toner and a series of points from dead-ball specialist Daire Murphy had St Mary’s in control before the late goals
After the break both teams went at it hammer and tongs with Rian McMullan’s 35th minute strike cancelled out by a goal from Paul McLoughlin and Eoin Trainor pushed St Mary’s ahead with two excellent points.
Cross and Passion regained the lead in the 51st minute when Caolan O’Connor completed his hat-trick with a low shot to the corner of the net and the game was still in the melting pot with just four minutes left.
Enda óg McGarry then burst forward for a point, quickly followed by a goal from Christy McGarry and then a further point from Conor O’Mullan to give the score-board a more flattering look than the efforts of the Glen Road boys deserved.
Enda óg, Conal McGlynn, the midfield pairing of Conleth McKinley and Christy McGarry, and Rian McMullan stood out for Ballycastle while Eoin Trainor, Daire Murphy and Dan Murray performed well for the losers.
Cross and Passion : K McAuley, J McGowan, E óg McGarry (0-1), R McClean, C McGlynn, P McGilligan, O Elliott (0-1), C McKinley, C McGarry (1-1), E Laverty, C O’Connor (3-1), M O’Boyle (0-1), C O’Mullan (0-1), R McMullan (1-7, 0-3 frees), D Devlin.
Subs : D Quinn for E Laverty, J Colgan for D Devlin
St Mary’s : C McShane, C Boyle, R Murray, A Carey, D Magee, D Murray, D Wilson, E Traynor (0-3), L Carr, C Ó Duifinn (0-2), D Murphy (0-8, 0-7 frees), M Toner (1-0), J Burns (0-1, sideline), P McLaughlin, N Fallon.
Subs : F Mervyn for A Carey, A Mullan for N Fallon
Referee : Sean McGuigan (Slaughtneil)