Bua iontach ag Colaiste Oiriall i gCorn Ennis

December 07, 2018

Danske Bank Ennis Cup Final
Coláiste Oiriall Monaghan 3-10 St Patrick’s Banbridge 4-3
COLÁISTE Oiriall have won their first Ulster Schools’ football title – but they needed extra time in Killeavy yesterday before they saw off a stiff challenge from St Patrick’s Banbridge.
An excellent goal from Niall Ó Míocháin in the 55 minute looked like winning the game in ordinary time for the Monaghan side, but in the fourth minute of added time Denis Kerr took responsibility for a pressure free kick for Banbridge and slotted an equaliser.
Kerr was a key player for the Down side with good support from Eoin Campbell and Darragh Greenan, but overall Coláiste Oiriall had the better balanced all round team – although they didn’t always convert possession into scores.
Jack Ó Cearbhalláin had an excellent game, as did Cillian Ó Haicéid, Aodán Ó Dughaill, Neal Ó Coigligh and Fionnán Ó Gallachóir, while Niall Ó Míochán left the pitch with an injury but returned to swing the game in favour of his team.
Banbridge got the perfect start, a goal from Eoin Campbell in the opening minute and they were able to stay ahead of their opponents until the break with further goals from Denis Kerr and Ryan Meara.
However Jack Ó Cearbhalláin fired home an excellent goal in the 21st minute and a series of points left his team a point in arrears at the break, 1-6 to 3-1.
The problem was that Oiriall had to face the breeze in the second half, but they managed that fairly well, despite conceding a fourth goal early in the half, again from midfielder Campbell.
The Oiriall defence knuckled down and kept their opponents scoreless until injury-time, while Ó Míocháin’s goal looked to have won the game in normal time.
In extra time Cillain Ó hAicéid soloed through from midfield. Despite losing the ball he managed to get his boot to it on the ground and find the net. It was the key score of extra time as Banbridge never looked like hitting back
Colaiste Oirialla : O Ó Raghallaigh, S Ó Carthaigh, A Ó Dughaill, R Ó Siurdáin, D Ó hAinliún, N Ó Coigligh, M Ó Chleirchín, C Ó Haicéid (1-2), J Ó Cearbhalláin (1-5), É Ó hAilín (0-1), N Ó Míochán (1-0), F Ó Gallachóir (0-2), S Ó Ceallaigh, B Mac Cathmhaoil, M Ó Cearbhallán.

Subs : O Ó Connghaile, C Ó Murchú, J Ó hAnnan, L Ó hAmaill, L Mac Treinfhirr, M Ó Mealláin
St Patrick’s : C Higgins, S McClure, D Kerr (1-1), A Moan, K McNeill, C Lemon, D Greenan, E Campbell (2-0), K Bradford, C Cull, F Keenan, T Gorman, A McGivern, R Meara (1-0), S Malone
Subs : B O`Hare (0-1) for S Malone