Bua i gCorn Uí Mhealláin ag Coláiste Oiriall

May 17, 2019

Danske Bank Mallon Cup final
Coláiste Oriall Monaghan 5-12 Cross and Passion Ballycastle 5-4
COLÁISTE Oiriall from Monaghan produced the goods in the first half of yesterday’s Danske Bank Mallon Cup final in the Loup and it was enough to see them lift the school’s second provincial title of the season.
Goals from Bobby Mac Camhaoil, Máitiú Ó Cearrbhalláin and Oisín Ó Conghaile left the Monaghan side well in control at the change of ends with a 3-9 to 2-3 lead.
Conor Donnelly and Oisín Healy had scored the Cross and Passion goals during that first half but they were very much on the defensive with Conor’s brother Cathair and Ben O’Kane working hard and really only Dara Kelly troubling Oiriall’s back-line.
For Coláiste Oiriall the two Nialls, Ó Coigligh and Ó Míocháin, were dominant but overall the Gaelscoil played good team football and created a lot of chances especially in the opening half.
Early in the second half Oisín Healy hit the net for Ballycastle, but they didn’t get a chance to build on it with goals from Sé Ó Ceallaigh and a penalty from Niall Ó Míocháin putting Oiriall back in control.
Two goals from Ben McGarry, the second seven minutes from time narrowed the gap to five points but again Coláiste Oiriall responded with points from Oisín Ó Conghaile, Sé Ó Ceallaigh and Reuben Ó Sirideáin to add the Mallon Cup to the Ennis title collected before Christmas with no fewer than five players doubling their medal haul.
Coláiste Oiriall : O Mac Traenfhir, S Ó Carthaigh, A Ó Dughail, R Mac Cumhaigh, C Ó Murchú, N Ó Coighligh capt 0-1, R Ó Sirideáin 0-1, B Mac Camhaoil 1-1, N Ó Miacháin 1-3, S Ó Ceallaigh 1-3, M Ó Cearrbhalláin 1-2, M Ó Mealláin, O Ó Conaghaile 1-1, F Ó Maolchallann, P Ó Corragáin
Cross and Passion: E Richmond, C O’Hagan, B O’Kane, R McLaughlin, T McGarry, Cathair Donnelly, J Alex, E McGarry, G McToal, D Kelly 0-2, B McGarry 2-0, O Healy 2-0, C Mort 0-1, K McCarry, Conor Donnelly1-1
Subs : A McFerran for C Mort, E McKinley for R McLaughlin, C Beaudant for C O’Hagan, R Fitzgerald for K McCarry.
Referee : A Campbell (Magherafelt)