Abbey ease through in MacRory

January 15, 2020

Danske Bank MacRory Cup Round 1 Eliminators

Abbey CBS Newry 7-12 Scoileanna Inis Eoghain 3-12

GIVEN the heavy defeats Scoileanna Inis Eoghain suffered in the group stages, this Danske Bank MacRory Cup Round 1 Eliminator in Páirc Esler was always going to be difficult for them, but their spirited second half performance meant that they depart the competition with their heads held high.

They were in trouble from early in the game with Niall Toner hitting the net from the penalty spot after six minutes and John McGovern quickly in for a second Abbey goal.

By half time Inis Eoghain trailed by 5-6 to 1-4 with Drew McVerry scoring two of the Abbey goals and Conor O’Neill giving the Donegal side a lift with his strike.

Caolan McColgan, Sean Doherty and Michael McLaughlin worked hard for the losers with Conor O’Neill, Christopher McDaid and Josh Conlon picking off good scores in the second half.

Abbey made a raft of changes though and a second round tie with St Patrick’s Armagh was never in jeopardy with further goals from Toner and McGovern before the three-quarter mark.

Abbey : D McVerry (2-2), N Toner (2-2), J McGovern (2-1), D Callaghan (1-4), E McKenna (0-2), R Kearney (0-1)

Inis Eoghain : Conor O’Neill (1-2), Oisin Crawford (1-2), Christopher McDaid (1-1), Josh Conlon (0-5), Adam McGonagle (0-1), Drew McKinney (0-1).