More Information


Affiliated schools are advised to familiarise themselves with the details of these Regulations which are posted both on our website ( and on the Croke Park website ( Attention is drawn in particular to the following:

“A Sideline Official will be appointed by the committee-in-charge, and it shall be his duty to report any breaches of these Regulations. The Committee-in-charge may also appoint a Match Monitor who shall be responsible for any duties assigned. The Sideline Official shall include in his report any relevant observations or breaches reported to him by the Match Monitor. These will then form part of the Referee’s Report in accordance with Rule 1.6, Rules of Control, T.O. 2012 (Cuid II) but any errors or omissions in respect of this shall not invalidate the Report as a whole.
The Committee-in-charge may also impose penalties for breaches of the Regulations brought to its attention by members of the Committee-in-charge or the Management Committee.”

Game Regulations
The Referee has the authority during the game to send any person in repeated breach of these Regulations to the stand / outside the pitch enclosure, and such person may not be replaced.

Team Officials must be named on the official team list submitted to the referee. The number of Team Officials permitted to remain in the Pitch Enclosure during the game is up to a maximum of FIVE, who are the Bainisteoir, the Maor Foirne, the 2 Water Carriers / Hurley Carriers, and one Medic.

    The Bainisteoir shall wear a designated distinctive top, and is not permitted to enter the field of play. He may move along the sideline from the 65m line to the 45m line as per the ’Pitch Layout’ in these Regulations. The Bainisteoir may not act in any other capacity (e.g. as Maor Foirne etc).
    The Maor Foirne (who must be Selector) shall wear a designated distinctive top, and may enter the field of play only through the area in front of the team’s designated area, and only when the ball has gone out of play following a score, wide or during a stoppage in play called by the Referee. He shall exit the field of play at the nearest point and return to his designated area without interfering with play or opposition personnel. The Maor Foirne may not be a listed member of the Team panel and may not act as a designated Water/Hurley carrier.
  3. A Break in Play:
    A Break in Play is when the ball has gone out of play following a score or a wide, or a stoppage in play called by the Referee for medical attention to an injured player. The taking of a free, a 45, and/or a sideline kick/puck does not constitute a break in play.

    Selectors must sit in their designated area and may not act as Water Carriers / Hurley Carriers.
    Two (2) Medical Personnel (2) shall be identified on the Official Team list and shall sit in the areas designated in Ground Regulations; they shall wear clear identification, may only enter the field of play to attend to an injured player.
  6. Maor uisce
    Two (2) Maor Uisce are permitted per team; they may not enter the field of play. Each must wear a designated distinctive top and will be situated as per the ‘Pitch Layout’ in these Regulations, and at least 2 metres from the sideline. In hurling, the Maoir Uisce will also act as Hurley Carriers, and may enter the field of play with a replacement hurley when necessary. Substitutes, injured players, or members of the extended panel may not act as Maoir Uisce.
  7. *Penalties:
    Penalties for breaches of Match Regulations shall be at the discretion of the Committee-in-charge. These may include warnings, fines, the withdrawal of sideline privileges as outlined in (a) – (e) above, or suspension of individuals as considered appropriate.
  8. N.B. The Match Regulations above are those in operation for the 2016 calendar year. Schools coaches are advised to check the 2017 Regulations when these are issued by Croke Park in January 2017, and take account of any changes which may have been made and approved by Ard Chomhairle. Any such changes would then become operative for the remainder of the school year i.e. January 2017—June 2017.