Dominant Kilkeel claim Paddy O’Hara Cup

May 04, 2017

Danske Bank Paddy O’Hara Cup final

St Louis Kilkeel 3-14 St Columb’s Derry 2-8

A strong all-round performance from St Louis Kilkeel in Derrytresk saw them collect the Danske Bank Paddy O’Hara Cup for the first time yesterday afternoon.

The south Down side took charge from around the 10th minute with Player of the Match Matthew Cunningham growing in stature with every passing minute and well supported by Darragh McKay who scored the first goal of the game after 12 minutes.

Shay Browne was prominent early in the game for Derry, and Shane McElhinney and Jude óg Moore had decent games as well, but Kilkeel finished up with nine different scorers and goalie Cormac Garvey brought off two stunning saves in the opening half to keep St Columb’s Derry at bay.

Goals for the Foyle-siders at that stage could have been highly significant as they were facing the wind in the first half and trailed by 2-8 to 1-3 at the break.

Matthew Cunningham and Darragh McKay had claimed the majors for Kilkeel while Ronan McAleer put the ball in the net for Derry – but a lesser margin at the half-way point could possibly have been reeled in if St Columb’s had got a tail-wind.

As it was however, Cunningham sent over two great frees on the re-start and Shane Fitzpatrick added a third point before St Columb’s got going with a 40th minute point from Shane McElhinney.

St Louis kept the score-board ticking over during the next ten minutes and led by 2-14 to 1-4 before St Columb’s got a run of scores, a point from Matthew Stephenson, two Jude óg Moore frees and then a goal from Shay Browne, all inside a five minute spell.

However St Louis quickly re-gained the initiative, held firm at the back and broke in the 58th minute with substitute Aidan Gribben setting Darragh McKay up for his second goal and Kilkeel’s third.

St Louis : C Garvey, C Greene, D Murnion, R Mackey, D Nugent 0-1, S Donegan, N Sloan 0-2, C Cunningham, M Cunningham 1-5, 0-3 frees, S Fitzpatrick 0-2, D McKay capt. 2-0, S McDowell, J Rogers 0-1, T O’Neill 0-2, J Rice 0-1

Subs: E Howlett for D Nugent (45), A Gribben for J Rice (47), L Ruane for S McDowell (50), T Burns for J Rodgers (57).

St Columb’s : L McCann, L Durkan, C McElhinney, B Best, D Gilmore, S McElhinney 0-1, M Moore capt., M Stephenson 0-1, A McDuff, R McAleer 1-0, S Browne 1-2, 0-1 free, P Neilis, C McMonagle, J óg Moore 0-4, 0-3 frees, C Curry

Subs: M Lynch for B Best (38)

Referee: Paul Coyle (Tyrone)